Choco Bank (K-drama) Mini Review

I like the first episode even with the lame cliché meeting scene. The main plot that drives the story doesn’t make a lot of sense. However, it keeps me interested and makes me wonder about the back-stories of the two lead characters, Kim Eun-Haeng (Kim Jong-in/Kai) and Ha Cho-co (Park Eun-bin.) Eun-Haeng is intelligent and capable, but is unemployed. It is improbable, but not impossible to be unemployed for five years without your mother knowing… That may be a bit of a stretch, but it is K-dramaland. Kai was surprisingly natural in the role.

Ha Cho-co is struggling to run a new shop, the Choco Bank. She roped in Eun-Haeng to help her. I am mainly indifferent toward the character. I have seen too many characters like her. I thought Eun-bin was a new actress, but she actually debuted when she was only seven. By the way, Cho-co is a very cute, almost like a pet name.

Everything sort of fell apart after the second episode. The script wasn’t good from the beginning, but I thought the premise was interesting and it had the potential to improve.

The other characters, Bae Dal-su (Yeon Joon-seok) and Hong Chae-ri (Lee Chae-won,) were pretty bad. I don’t know if I should blame it on their acting or the director. There were two thoughts on my mind when they were introduced, “cringe worthy,” and “acting is a bit off.”

I forced myself to watch the fourth episode, so it wasn’t enjoyable at all. If this was a 16- episodes series, I would have stopped at four. I really wanted to like it because the opening was quite cute, but it was very difficult to watch. Half the time I was feeling sorry for the actors. I also blame the shaky camera style for giving me a stomach.

After watching Five Children, I was happy again and my stomach cleared up. I went back to finish watching the fifth and sixth episode. It was a bit better, but not by much.

Conclusion: This is probably not for the typical k-drama fan, but definitely for fans of EXO. This is my first review, so I may be a bit more critical than usual.

I normally watch k-drama for the sake of enjoyment, so it has been a very different experience for me to write down my random thoughts. It is just my luck that the first drama I clicked on to review have an EXO’s member. I have only focused on two K-pop groups in my lifetime, so I don’t know much about EXO. It is fortunate that Kai was one of the more like-able elements of the show.

If you enjoy this series, I recommend Sassy Go Go/Cheer Up. It has a similar cheesy and fun style. I absolutely adore SGG and the cast.

Leave a Reply

